Whirlwind Summer

From road trips to weddings, beach days and college reunions, to hikes with the dogs and intense 6-week anatomy classes, this summer has been a whirlwind! I wish I could remember it all, but here are a few highlights.

5-year college reunion!

Sara and Matt get married!

Beach days!

A snapshot from Chicago of the cross-country road trip!

Hiking with the dogs!

Unfortunately, I don’t have photos of my anatomy class but picture a classroom setting with a lab section dissecting cats and sheep kidneys. Not a really appetizing photo.

On that note, summer is almost over, I start school full time in two weeks, and then it will be fall before we know it! In the meantime, I’m planning to make tons of summer salads, new fruit popsicles and grill, grill, grill! Here’s the first of many quinoa salad conncoctions.

I almost forgot what makes it betta….FETA!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups quinoa

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

1 small yellow onion

~1/2 cup chopped fresh parsely

1 can black olives

1 block feta cheese (or as much as you like!)

Dressing:

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1/4 tsp sugar

1/2 lemon

1 clove garlic, minced

salt, to taste

Directions:

Sautee onions and peppers until soft. Meanwhile, bring 2 1/2 cups of water to a boil and add quinoa. Let simmer on medium-high until all water is absorbed. Add quinoa to peppers and onions, then add olives, parsley and feta. For the dressing, combine ingredients in a separate bowl and whisk together. Pour over quinoa salad and mix well.

I made this during tropical storm Irene, and honestly, I didn’t even notice when the wind and rain stopped because I was so busy eating this! YUM YUM YUM! And pretty damn good for you too! I like this dish warm, but I’m planning to try it cold tomorrow.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

